Lily’s First Day at Playgroup

100_2434.jpgWell with much trepidation I headed out today to enter the jungle known as ‘playgroup’, biological mothers armed to the teeth with good advice and wisdom on raising children. To be honest I was terrified. When I arrived my friend Jo who runs the playgroup said “Rachel you are shaking!”and I was.

To think that I have been in the corporate world for over 10 years and have had no real interaction with mothers en masse I was shaking all over. It was scary stuff. Not only was I entering the domain of the bio mum but I was entering it with my 16 month old daughter who has only been my daughter for 3 weeks. My daughter who has bonded to her Dad and is still not real sure of me. I was convinced she was going to chuck a na na and in front of everyone I would not be able to comfort her and I would be seen for the phony newbie mother that I am. But yet again my daughter proved that I do not need to ‘over think’ every situation. Just take it as it comes and everything will work out fine.

I mingled with the Mums, Lily watched the other kids, even did a little bit of colouring in and craft. All in all it was a great first day at playgroup. There were a few other Chinese kids there with their Chinese Mums and Lily even managed to pick up a playdate for late August with one little girl.

 We’re in! Or at least on our way……

100_2433.jpg

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mum/Grandma
    Jun 23, 2007 @ 10:04:47

    Stress less Girl,
    You both look like you had fun.
    You know you will look back on these things and think how paranoid you were.
    Lily has adapted and so will you……eventually.
    Of course you do know that she will say her first real word this afternoon and it will be Nai Nai,don,t you. Well maybe not…….
    Ok, Ken will be here very soon to take me to the airport for my big,exciting trip tp meet my new grandaughter,but first I will have a stopover to see my dear grandson in Cairns.My other two beautiful grandchildren had my time for a few hours last night so all is right with the world.
    Love Mum…Nai Nai

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Jun 25, 2007 @ 11:45:05

    I have been watching your experiences over the past month so so with interest but had to respond to your last entry – I am a bio Mum as you call us and I just want to assure you we do not have all the answers. It doesn’t matter whether our children are handed to us at birth or at 15 months of age, we are all nervous (especially the first time), we all have moments where we really don’t know what to do, we all have times when we are tired and emotional. Look on playgroup as an opportunity to learn from others’ experiences – you will realise you are just like all other Mums because you are now a Mum. Try and relax, enjoy the experience, don’t over analyze everything you do and above all have fun, you will be fine!! You love her and that is all that counts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

