Life with our China Girl.

Life with Lily is great. She is just such a joy to be with. She makes you smile even when you want to ‘rouse’ on her.

A few weeks ago I came back into the lounge to see that she had pulled every one of my cd’s from the CD Tower (that’s a lot of cd’s) and was standing a top the pile as if she was Edmund Hillary.

I could hear the cases cracking and see them bending under her. As you can imagine I was quite annoyed to see the damage being made.

 With a shout I said “Lily! What do you think your doing?”

Does she jump off the Cd’s in fright because I am yelling at her?

No she tilts her head to the side, smiles, throws her arms in the air and yells Moosick, Moosick Mama!

How can you be angry long with that kind of cuteness?

For all you parents out there saying “well Lily really got away with that one” you will be happy to know that she had to pick up every CD and help Mama put them away.

But I do love the fact that she is talking a lot more now. It just makes for interesting mealtime high chair conversation.

We have been helping Lily to ‘tell’ her adoption story through learning a string of answers to certain questions her father and I ask her. However the fun begins when you ask her the questions out of order. You get some really funny mix ups.

Here is how it goes when you ask them in the right order:

Me: What’s you name? Lily: Lillcwhee (Lily)

Me: How old are you? Lily: Doo! (Two)

Me: Where were you born? Lily: jiawana (China)

Me: So what’s your story for being in Australia? Lily: Dot! Det! (Adopted)

Me: Who made you? Lily: Dod! (God)

Me: Who loves you? Lily: Mummeee and Dadee!

And I also think we have a little prayer warrior in our midst too. When you ask Lily to pray at the table to give thanks for the meal she goes on and on and on….with hands raised mind you! So precious! Am trying to upload a vid of this but you will have to wait a bit till I have time.

Yesterday afternoon out of nowhere I was hit with a bad migraine. So I was sitting on the floor with my head on the couch. I told Lily that Mummy had an ouchie and needed to close her eyes. She sweetly came up and started patting my head, and rubbing her hands through my hair. I was thinking this was lovely when she jumped up and went into the kitchen. I could hear her rummaging around in the kitchen drawer but assumed it was the bottom drawer that she usually played in. You know the one with all the wooden spoons?

So I continued to lay still with my eyes shut. A few minutes later Lily comes back and I can feel her brushing something through my hair. I then felt cold metal against my ear and jumped up. Lily did not have a wooden spoon but in fact had a huge pair of meat scissors open and just about ready to close over a big chuck of my hair!!

I only missed the worst haircut in history by seconds! That alone losing half my ear!!

Ah motherhood is fraught with dangerous situations!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Felicity
    Apr 05, 2008 @ 00:39:39

    It has been a while since I saw what was going on with you… I swear that Lily is so cute and standing on all the CD’s… oh dear… come on, you weren’t that cranky… hehehe… you were secretly smiling and laughing… on the inside at least… take care

    Reply

  2. Mum / Nai Nai
    Apr 05, 2008 @ 22:35:17

    Well I’ve just read the above and am still laughing!
    How could you possibly be angry with my darling grand daughter?
    I think the conversation about her name etc is just beautiful,and besides now I know what she’s saying when she talks to me on the phone.I still love to hear her “happy happy day” song that she sang for me on New Years Eve though.
    Be very happy and oh soooo proud of our little angel……

    Reply

Leave a Reply

