I will follow you into the dark

Below are the lyrics to “I will Follow you into the Dark” by Deathcab for Cutie.

 

Love of mine
Someday you will die
But I’ll be close behind
I’ll follow you into the dark
No blinding lights or tunnels to gates of white
Just our hands clasped so tight
Waiting for the hint of the spark

If heaven and hell decide that they both are satisfied
Illuminate the no’s on their vacancy signs
If there’s no one beside you when your soul embarks
Then I’ll follow you into the dark

In catholic school, as vicious as Roman rule
I got my knuckles bruised by a lady in black
And I held my tongue as she told me “Son fear is the heart of love”
So I never went back

If heaven and hell decide that they both are satisfied
Illuminate the no’s on their vacancy signs
If there’s no one beside you when your soul embarks
Then I’ll follow you into the dark

You and me
Have seen everything to see
From Bangkok to Calgary
And the soles of your shoes
Are all worn down, the time for sleep is now
But it’s nothing to cry about cause we’ll hold each other soon
In the blackest of rooms

If heaven and hell decide that they both are satisfied
Illuminate the no’s on their vacancy signs
If there’s no one beside you when your soul embarks
Then I’ll follow you into the dark
I’ll follow you into the dark.

A beautiful song to listen to but what does it actually mean? What is he saying? He does not think they will enter either heaven or hell? The video clip even opens up more questions.

Would love your feedback on this.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ellira
    Sep 09, 2008 @ 17:51:56

    Hi! This is one of my favourite songs. I think Ben Gibbard (singer/songwriter for Death Cab, The Postal Service and solo stuff) is great. Alot of his lyrics really do inspire hope and seem to be trying to make the world a better place.

    In this song he is acknowledging the existence of both heaven and hell but also the “What if?” And many people have the “What if’s”. He seems to be saying no matter what you believe you will not be alone after death, acknowledging the everlasting nature of our spirits.

    I was lucky enough to fing God on my own terms but some of my friends with traditional Catholic upbringings and education suffer SO MUCH GUILT, seeming to feel no matter what they do they are doomed anyway. Even if they do believe in a higher power they shy away from the word God as for them this suggests punishment.

    I believe in a loving God who allows us to make mistakes, guides us when we listen and is ALL forgiving. Many “hardcore, old school” Catholics use the “going to hell” punishment on their children in a way that really scares them especially if taught from a young age.

    I believe in the essence – that if we acknowledge our wrongdoings and conscientiously try to act in ways that serve the common good then we ARE forgiven, ALWAYS. I don’t believe in any “sin” that will not be forgiven if acknowledged.

    Catholic doctrine seems to teach that there are unforgivable sins such as homosexuality and abortion. A loving God has given us free will and that includes EVERYTHING. I believe homosexuality is not a condition to be prayed for and fixed but a natural state that must be acknowledged.

    Anyway, I think Ben is saying that no matter what you believe the afterlife contains, i’ll be there with you, which is comforting and beautiful. Maybe he’s singing to Atheists?? You might be able to ask him yourself at http://www.deathcabforcutie.com

    You are only one of 2 blogs I have seen in the adoption community from China to Aus and I’m interested to know what state you are in? and if it it is more complicated and/or longer wait than The States. I am very drawn to follow the Chinese adoption path but unfortunately there are Hague rules preventing me just yet.

    Best, Ellira.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

