Faith of a Squirrel Glider

Your father knows what you need before you ask him. So do not worry, saying ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Today’s trouble is enough for today. (Matthew 6:8b, 31-34)

 

Trust in the Lord and do good; so you will live in the land, and enjoy security. Take delight in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord; trust in him, and he will do this: He will make your righteousness shine like the dawn, the justice of your cause like the noonday sun. Be still before the Lord, and wait patiently for him. (Psalm 37:3-7a)

 

I have always known that the right thing for our family was for me to stay at home with Lily and be the Mum she needs me to be. But as I am sure you are all aware we don’t always do what is right. We manage to reason with ourselves and justify the choices we make.

I had convinced myself that I had to be back in the workforce because the adoption was so costly and we needed to have my extra income. Meanwhile the reason for the adoption was in childcare every week costing us close to $300 a week.

Lily wasn’t happy, I wasn’t happy…but I had convinced myself that it was the right thing to do. Stupid!!

 

Then a few weeks ago Albert and I were talking about the lesson Lily had in Sunday school on Faith and the Squirrel Glider.

Albert asked me “How would you show Lily what faith was?”

I laughed and said that’s the Sunday School teachers job.

He said ‘Seriously how in a real application of it would you show Lily what Faith was?”

He stumped and I said “No idea”.

That’s when he sent me for a six! He should have at least asked me to sit down before he dropped his bombshell.

 

Albert sat there and said that a real life application of Faith that we could show Lily would be for me to resign from my job and for us to Trust that the Lord would provide all our needs.

 

So after I recovered from the shock I ruminated on the idea for awhile and agreed that yes this was the right thing to do.

 

Last Tuesday the 29th July I gave my boss one months notice so my last day in the workforce is Friday the 29th August. Yay!

I am leaving one job that I am over to take on the job I have always wanted…Stay At Home Mum.

 

I know that things will be tight financially and that budgeting will be key but Albert and I both believe it is the right thing to do and will support each other. The sacrifices that will be made will be worth seeing my darling girls’ face every morning when she wakes up. Playing with her down the park, teaching her to make things in the kitchen and taking her to playgroup.

 

My mum was in all my childhood memories and I want Lily to have those same memories of me being around and me being interested in all she does.

 

 

SAHM

SAHM

 

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. BusyWoman
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 16:43:31

    Hello there, I have followed you here from the comment you left on my wordpress site. This site was only a test run and I am surprised that it is ” out there”. My actual blog is at http://www.avisionsplendid.blogspot.com
    thanks for visiting

    Reply

  2. Cristina
    Aug 07, 2008 @ 13:14:40

    Well done Rachel!! Congratulations for stepping out in faith and making such a big (and probably scary) decision. Lily will benefit hugely from your decision, as will your whole family. Just keep your focus upwards on Him and you will be fine. Well done!
    Cristina in Tassie

    Reply

  3. Erin
    Aug 20, 2008 @ 12:58:13

    Wow! What an amazing and courageous decision. From one stay at home mom to another I support your choice. Lily will just love having her with all the time.

    Best wishes on your remaining days at work.

    Reply

  4. Dawn
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 06:00:48

    Congratulations. If your in need of support and help or would just like the company of like minded women, check out a great online group..www.happyhousewivesclub.com
    Founder, Darla Shine was an executive who decided to give it all up for staying home with her children. She wrote a book and formed the club, and I can say its helped me so much!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

