here I am, there I was

No I am not dead…I am still here.

The move from the old house to the new (only one suburb over) was a bigger task than I imagined. Albert and I have moved 12 times in 16 years of marriage so I thought this move would be a shoo in. What I didn’t factor in was a very curious 2 year old wanting to help and unpack everything. Problem being she wanted to unpack at the old house. I swear if I packed a certain toy once I packed it 10 times!! It kept going in the box and Lily kept ‘helping’ by taking it out!! Moving house is a real stressor and it’s not easy on your marriage relationship either. Thankfully I have a wonderful husband who can see past my whinging and moaning and still love me after my tirades!!

Don’t get me wrong I am not a complete cow. I just don’t handle stress the way I should. It’s a family trait actually….all the women in my family really ‘stress out’. I know that I need to pray more leading up to stressors but I sin and I handle it on my own. Then what ensues is not pretty.

Two favourite promises from the Bible are:

Come to me all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Matthew 11:28

and

God is our refuge and our strength, and very present help in trouble. Psalm 46:1.

It’s written right there, God promised this.  So I need to get past reading it and actually start believing it in my life. There would be no more headaches, no more stomach upsets, no more hurting and stressing my family.

Oh and what a family I have. I am so in love with my husband and daughter. They are the most wonderful blessings in my life.Lily and Dad

We are finally getting settled into the new house so I should have time to blog a little more frequently.

And don’t forget everyone, National Adoption Awareness Week is coming up. 17th-23rd Nov.

Please visit www.nationaladoptionawarenessweek.com.au for more information on how you can get involved.

I will be speaking briefly at Lily’s music group and handing out info on the top ten myths of adoption. What can you do to help demystify and destigmatise adoption?

NAAW Adoption Myths

1 – Adopted Children are Lucky
2 – Adoptive Parents are Saints
3 – Adoption is a Second Best Option
4 – They’re Aussies Now!
5 – Adoption is Buying a Baby
6 – Celebrities Can Fast Track the Process of Adoption
7 – Adoption is About Providing Rich Infertile Couples with Children
8 – You Have to be Rich to Adopt
9 – Love is Enough in Parenting an Adopted Child
10 – Birth Mothers Get On With Their Lives after Giving a Child Up

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Felicity
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 13:41:32

    Oh don’t you just love half of those myths… I had recently put a post on mine about this too and mine also came from the Australian site… though I am a saint whether adopting of not… hahaha

    Reply

  2. Janice K
    Nov 10, 2008 @ 18:59:31

    Hi Rach,
    well you must let me know where you have moved to, is it fun moving with little ones. We have a nearly two year old Grandson, so I know what thats like, but they are so cute ate that age its soooooo hard to get mad at them, Im so happy for you both, Gos blessed you with this precious child, a little hint for you from experiance spend more time injoying her than stressing its so much more fun….
    love
    janice……

    Reply

Leave a Reply

