A Week of Learning

It’s been such a wonderful week of learning new things and growing beyong my comfort zone. I have so many things going through my mind right now.

Last Monday and Tuesday I was priviledged enough to attend the Sydney Acts 29 Bootcamp. The information I got was mind blowing to say  the least. It was one of those times when you know soomething but you don’t really KNOW it.

The speakers just laid all the information out in such a simple but insightful way. They talked about Christians being Missional minded and Community focused.  I know your saying ” Yeah so what’s the revelation?”

But think about it. How often are we Missional Minded and Community focused? I think we get off track alot of times on what the Gospel real is.

Reaching people with the Gospel of Christ is not all about handing out tracks and sticking our foot in someones doorway and telling them to pray the prayer of  repentance becauuse their hell bound.

The gospel is about getting out there and meeting people in our community and finding out what their needs are and showing them that Christ can meet their every need.

My head is just a buzz with ideas on how to share the gospel. Christ’s love is what gets me through everyday and I want to share that with people.

Then on Sunday our Pastor talked more about the  gosepl and how in Christ there is freedom to serve Him. That there is NO condemnation in Christ. I’ve read this a hundred times but I really didn’t get it till this Sunday. It was such a revelation to me. Being a christian is not about abiding to the man made rules that a lot of churches set out or make you feel guilty when you don’t live like them. Christs death on the cross took away ALL my guilt and shame. Romans 8 says

1Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, 2because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life set me free from the law of sin and death.

I can let go of all my baggage that I carry with me constantly. It’s a wonderful feeling to leave it all behind.

Then I get this great link  from my sister and it just ties in with the rest of the week. Its been wonderful.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny Kemp
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 13:33:43

    Great to have you back Rachel! Did you go on Saturday to Equip MW? I’m sorry I missed you last year (read your old post). I would have happily talked to you!

    Isn’t great when you have those moments of clarity when you remember what the gospel message ACTUALLY is rather than what we make it become with all our rules and expectations? So liberating.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

